Photo of the two awards.

In the evening of January 23, dozens of colleagues, friends, and relatives were gathered in the beautiful offices of Thomson Reuters to celebrate two outstanding McGill Law alumni; McGill Governor Stephen Halperin, BCL’75, LLB’78, and Falconers LLP Associate Anthony N. Morgan, BCL/LLB’12, received awards.

A Toronto Alumni Awards reception recently held by the Faculty proved itself a wonderful opportunity to celebrate our awardees surrounded with their dear ones, and to catch up with a few local alumni. Neil Sternthal, LLB’95, of Thomson Reuters, kindly hosted the event.

During the ceremony expertly emceed by Dean Leckey, Asha James of Falconers LLP joined the Faculty in singing the praises of former Black Law Student Association President Anthony N. Morgan, BCL/LLB’12, who was presented with the Charles D. Gonthier Outstanding Recent Graduate Award. Created by the Young Alumni Board in 2008, the award is named after the Honourable Charles Doherty Gonthier, CC, BCL’51, LLD’90 (1928-2009), who generously supported and mentored young jurists throughout his career.

McGill University Chancellor Michael Meighen was also in attendance to say a few words about Stephen Halperin, BCL’75, LLB’78, who was handed the F.R. Scott Award for Distinguished Contribution to McGill and the Law. The award is named in honour of Francis Reginald Scott (1899-1985), Canadian poet, intellectual, constitutional expert, and Dean of the Faculty of Law from 1961 to 1964. Past recipients of the award include three Supreme Court Justice, and one Governor General of Canada.

Recently appointed for a second term on McGill’s Board of Governors, Stephen Halperin has also served on the Faculty of Law’s Advisory Board for 15 years, during which he proved himself an invaluable advisor to three of our deans. He recently retired after a stellar career at Goodmans LLP. Halperin’s remarks concluded the joyous celebrations (download the PDF).

Please join us in congratulating these two distinguished alumni!

Our Montreal Alumni Awards will be held at the Faculty of Law on May 8, 2018.