This year, the Faculty of Law’s Spring Convocation was celebrated in the afternoon of June 1, 2016. The ceremony, which marked Daniel Jutras’s final speech as Dean of Law, was held on a beautiful summer day.

We had the honour of hosting the Right Honourable Beverley McLachlin, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, who was awarded a Doctorate of law honoris causa by McGill. She gave this year’s Convocation Address (watch on Youtube; 17 minutes). Among this year’s highlights, Professor Rosalie Jukier was awarded the John W. Durnford Teaching Excellence Award by the Law Student Association (she previously received it in 2004).

Elizabeth Torrance Gold Medal: Catherine Strauss
Aimé Geoffrion Medal: Guilhem de Roquefeuil
Principal David L. Johnston Medal: Mireille Fournier
Valedictorian: Julie Beauchamp

You can (re)watch the full Convocation ceremony on Youtube (2 hours).

Convocation was preceded by a Pre-Convocation Cocktail held the evening before at the Faculty Club, where the Class of 1966 graciously hosted a reception for the Class of 2016. The Class of 1966 also participated in the pomp and circumstance the next day with faculty and university officials as part of the platform party.

Law Convocation 2016


Photos by Lysanne Larose, with contributions from Charlie Feldman and Owen Egan.

Pre Convocation Cocktail


 Photos by Nicolas Morin, with contributions from Lysanne Larose.